Registered apprentice who HOLD a master degree in audiology and is NOT an audiologist
PriorTo Taking The Licensing Exam
Before you first take the licensing exam, you are required to:
- Attend an examination preparation workshop approved by the board
- Hold a valid apprentice registration certificate for no more than 365 calendar days plus ten subsequent working days. This must be accomplished within 24 consecutive months from the date of issue of the initial apprentice registration certificate.
- Received a minimum of 250 clock hours of direct supervision from a licensee approved by the board/sponser.
IfFailed The Licensing Exam
If you failed the licensing exam in your first attempt, you should:
- Reapply for insurance of a license of examination no later than 30 consecutive days to the next scheduled examination date.
- Receive 250 clock hours of direct supervision from a licensee approved from the board, before your next scheduled exam.
As an Apprentice applying for a hearing aid specialist license in North Carolina, you need to pass allthe following:
Part A. The simulator portion of the exam tests the candidate’s ability to accurately perform a pure-tone threshold test andrecord the results on an audiogram.
Part B. The practicum portion of the exam tests the candidate’s ability to meet the Board’s public safety standards whenmaking an ear impression for the fitting of a hearing aid.
Part C. The multiple-choice exam tests the candidate’s knowledge of state laws, rules, and federal regulations for the scope ofpractice of a hearing aid specialist in North Carolina. It consists of 50 questions.
After successfully completing one full year (365 Days) of apprenticeship, an apprentice may be licensed upon passing the following:
Part D. The International Hearing Society (IHS) International Licensing Examination for Hearing Healthcare
Professionals. It consists of 105 questions.
All of Parts A, B, and C, if not previously passed during the initial apprenticeship period.
These tests are given 4 times annually. Once in February, May, August, and November. You need to registration 45 days prior to the exam.
All payments should be made to the NC State Hearing Aid Dealer and Fitters Board. Here are the applicable fees for this application.
Initial Apprenticeship – $100.00
ExamRegistration- $500.00, with the exception, If Part D is the only exam you are taking, you pay no fees to the board. However, you must pay all necessary fees to IHS for taking the ILE. That fee is $225.00
Renewal Apprenticeship – $150.00
New Certificate to replace an invalidated Apprenticeship Certificate – $100.00
Initial Licensure – $150.00
Reinstatement – $150.00
Late fee for Reinstatement (less than 60 days) – $25.00
Late fee for Reinstatement (more than 60 days) – $50.00
Reissuance – $200.00